Four Council Members Sworn Into Office

Published on January 05, 2024

Four Council Members Sworn Into Office

Last evening (January 4, 2024), during a special meeting, three incumbent City Council Members and one newly elected City Council Member were sworn into office.

Centennial Municipal Judge Louis Gresh administered the oath of office to, newly elected Amy Tharp (District 1), Christine Sweetland (District 2 incumbent), Richard ‘Rik’ Holt  (District 3 incumbent), and Don Sheehan (District 4 incumbent), who began serving four-year terms. The City also expressed its gratitude to Council Member Candace Moon (District 1) who concluded her eight-year term.

Amy Tharp, District 1 Council Member

Amy Tharp was elected to her first term as District 1 Council Member. Ms. Tharp spent 34 years with Littleton Public Schools (LPS) beginning at Highland Elementary as a classroom teacher. One of her first units of instruction was teaching the history of the Centennial area to second graders! Since retiring from teaching a year ago, Ms. Tharp serves on a school accountability committee, an educational advisory committee and a social justice committee. She also tutors, volunteers for various community organizations and currently substitute teaches for LPS. She and her family moved to Centennial in 2006.

Christine Sweetland, District 2 Council Member

Christine Sweetland was re-elected for a second term as District 2 Council Member. Ms. Sweetland has been involved with numerous organizations as a Council Member. She participates as a member of the City’s Budget Committee and Open Space Advisory Board and serves as the City liaison to the South Metro Denver Chamber and the Southeast Stormwater Authority. In addition to her service as a District 2 Council Member, Ms. Sweetland is a Certified Residential Appraiser and Chief Executive Officer of 5280 Appraisal, a small business venture she began in 2008 providing appraisal services throughout the Denver metro area.

Richard ‘Rik’ Holt, District 3 Council Member

Rik Holt was re-elected to a second term as District 3 Council Member. He and his wife, Julie have lived in what is now Centennial since 2001. Mr. Holt has served on multiple boards and committees during his time on City Council. He currently serves as Mayor Pro Tem, is the Chair of the City’s Fiber Commission, and is a participant on South Suburban Parks and Recreation District’s Working Group for Parks, Trails, Open Space and Recreation, as well as on the National League of Cities ITC Policy Committee.

Don Sheehan, District 4 Council Member

Don Sheehan was re-elected to a second term as District 4 Council Member. He has been a resident of Centennial for 31 years. His involvement with the City of Centennial started when he was appointed to the Senior Commission in 2018. Mr. Sheehan represents Centennial on the policy committee for the Colorado Municipal League, is involved with Centennial Airport Noise Authority, Southwest Stormwater Authority, Arapahoe Park and Recreation District and the Defense Council with the Aurora Chamber. Additionally, he volunteers for various non-profit organizations including Wings Over the Rockies, as a Victim Advocate for the Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office and serves on the board of Nourish Meals on Wheels.

Photos from the January 4 special meeting are available here.