Unofficial Centennial Election Results Are In

Published on November 05, 2021


Unofficial Centennial Election Results Are In

Centennial voters re-elected Mayor Stephanie Piko, District 2 Council Member Tammy Maurer and District 3 Council Member Mike Sutherland, who all ran unopposed. Robyn Carnes was elected as District 1’s newest Council Member, as Council Member Kathy Turley is term-limited. District 4 Council Member Marlo Alston was re-elected after a close race with opponent Neal Davidson.

The unofficial results for the City of Centennial election are:

Mayor Stephanie Piko

Mayor Piko ran unopposed and is serving her second term as Centennial’s third Mayor. She moved to Centennial in 2001, with her husband and two sons. She is involved with countless boards and commissions as Centennial Mayor such as the Metro Mayors Caucus, a Member of National League of Cities Information Technology & Communications Federal Advocacy Committee and on the Board of Directors for the National League of Cities, Executive Committee for the Mile High Flood District, Denver South’s Economic Development Partnership and Transportation Management Association and many others.

Robyn Carnes, District 1 Council Member

Robyn Carnes was elected to her first term as District 1 Council Member. She and her family relocated to Colorado in 2003 where she started her career with Visit Denver, the Convention and Visitor’s Bureau. She then opened her own business, More Than Fun, which focused on developing and growing individuals through training, facilitation, and speaking. Mrs. Carnes has spent the last 11 years consulting and consensus building with companies in Silicon Valley, Atlanta and beyond. She is a mother to two boys and has a master’s degree in Youth and Family Ministries from Denver Seminary and a bachelor’s degree in Music Education from the University of Northern Iowa. 

Tammy Maurer, District 2 Council Member

Tammy Maurer was re-elected for a second term as District 2 Council Members. Mrs. Maurer has been involved with numerous organizations throughout her time as a Council Member. She has served as the Board Director of the Denver Regional Council of Government (DRCOG), the Executive Committee of the Arapahoe County Transportation Forum, the Transportation Infrastructure Committee for the National League of Cities, Aurora Chamber of Commerce Defense Council and the Advisory Committee for Reimagine RTD.

Mike Sutherland, District 3 Council Member

Mike Sutherland was re-elected to a second term as District 3 Council Member. He and his wife, Kathy have lived in what is now Centennial since 1994. Mr. Sutherland has served on multiple boards and committees for civic associations, bar associations, non-profits, and Catholic organizations in both Denver and Arapahoe County. He serves on the South Metro Denver Chamber of Commerce Legislative Action Committee and has practiced law in Colorado since 1984.

Marlo Alston, District 4 Council Member

Marlo Alston was re-elected to a second term as District 4 Council Member. She has been a resident of Centennial for 16 years and represents Centennial on the policy committee for the Colorado Municipal League (CML), the Colorado Black Women for Political Action, the Arapahoe County Justice Coordinating Committee (ACJCC) Behavioral Health Subcommittee, Aurora Chamber Defense Council Liaison as well as many other boards and commissions.  

All newly elected officials will be sworn in January 5, 2022.

Election results are still unofficial. The Arapahoe County Clerk will canvass the election and certify the votes in late November. As of Thursday, November 4, 156,827 have been counted. Arapahoe County is at the end of processing of the ballots received and will continue working on UOCAVA and/or cured ballots as paperwork arrives between now and the deadline on November 10. Results will be posted daily at 4 p.m. on

Tagged as: